Skip to main content

Best of EULAR 2018

Jun 22, 2018 11:50 am
  • bestEular.jpg

    EULAR2018 <br> Welcome Video

  • JohnCush_1.jpg

    Dr. Jack Cush:<br>New SLE Criteria

  • pope_2.jpg

    Dr. Janet Pope:<br>CV Events in RA

  • Lipsky.jpg

    Dr. Peter Lipsky:<br>Pegloticase Triple Study

  • Ronan.JPG

    Dr. Ronan Kavanagh:<br>Coffee & MTX

  • Calabrese_0.jpg

    Dr. Len Calabrese:<br>Vasculitis Update

  • Robinson.jpg

    Dr. Philip Robinson:<br>Gout Abstracts

  • Olga.jpg

    Dr. Olga Petryna:<br>Gout & Canakinumab

  • JohnCush_0.jpg

    Dr. Jack Cush:<br>Anakinra & Pseudogout

Speaker Bios in order of appearance:

Jack Cush, MD: Dr. Cush is the Director of Clinical Rheumatology at the Baylor Research Institute and a Professor of Medicine and Rheumatology at Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas, TX. He is the Executive Editor of and Co-Editor of the online textbook Dr. Cush’s research and interests include novel drug development, rheumatoid arthritis, spondyloarthritis, drug safety, pregnancy and Still’s disease/autoinflammatory syndromes. He has published over 140 articles and 2 books in rheumatology. He can be followed on Twitter: @RheumNow. Disclosure: Investigator for – Abbvie, Astra-Zeneca, Genentech, Janssen, Novartis, Pfizer. Consultant/Advisor to Abbvie, Amgen, BMS, Celgene, Genentech, Horizon, Lilly, Novartis, UCB.

Janet Pope, MD: Dr. Pope is a Professor of Medicine at Western University, London, Ontario, Canada. She is a rheumatologist and epidemiologist and is Division Head in Rheumatology at St. Joseph’s Hospital, London, Ontario. She has a major interest in scleroderma including membership in the Canadian Scleroderma Research Group, Scleroderma Clinical Trials Consortium and co-leading the new ACR/EULAR guidelines for SSc, and has published over 250 peer reviewed articles. She was named the Canadian Rheumatology Association Distinguished Investigator in 2013 and Rheumatologist of the Year from the Ontario Rheumatology Association. She supervises students at all levels and runs two nationwide studentships for medical students to be exposed to clinical rheumatology or research in rheumatology.Disclosure: Consulting: AbbVie, Actelion, Amgen, Bayer, BMS, Hospira, Janssen, Lilly, Merck, Novartis, Pfizer, Roche, Sanofi, Sandoz, UCB. Research Grants: Amgen, Bayer, BMS, Merck, Pfizer, Roche, SeaGen, UCB.

Peter Lipsky, MD Peter is a Rheumatologist & Immunologist who immerses himself in basic & clinical research. He received his medical degree from the New York University School of Medicine, completed residency training at the Strong Memorial Hospital in Rochester, New York and his post-doctoral fellowship in NIAID at the NIH. After going to UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Peter rapidly advanced to become a professor of Internal Medicine and Microbiology as well as the Director of the Harold C Simmons Arthritis Research Center, Co-Director of the Immunology Graduate Program, and Director of the Rheumatic Disease Division of the Department of Internal Medicine. He entered the new millennium as the Director of the Intramural Research Program & the Autoimmunity Branch of NIAMS at the NIH.

Peter is the co-founder of AMPEL BioSolutions LLC and directs its clinical operations. He is involved in the Lupus Clinical Investigator Network (LuCINTM) of the LRxL STATTM Lupus Drug Repositioning Initiative. Peter has edited several journals including the Journal of Immunology, Nature Reviews Rheumatology and Arthritis Research & Therapy. Peter's accolades include the Carol Nachman Prize, the American College of Rheumatology Distinguished Investigator Award and the Arthritis Foundation’s prestigious Lee Howley prize.

Ronan Kavanagh, MD is a rheumatologist working in full time private practice in Galway, Ireland. He also writes a regular column for The Medical Independent ( and runs an annual festival of medical curiosity called dotMED ( Follow him on Twitter @ronantkavanagh.

Dr. Leonard H. Calabrese is Vice Chairmanof the Department of Rheumatic and Immunologic Disease and Head of the Section of Clinical Immunology at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Dr. Calabrese holds the RJ Fasenmyer Chair of Clinical Immunology and is Professor of Medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine. He has authored over 300 published peer-reviewed articles, book chapters and research abstracts. Follow him on Twitter: @LCalabreseDO

Dr. Philip Robinson, MBChB, PhD, FRACP is a rheumatologist in Brisbane, Australia. He completed his medical degree at Otago University in New Zealand and attained his PhD from the University of Queensland. His PhD was on the genetics of ankylosing spondylitis and anterior uveitis. Philip is still active in research in the areas of axial spondyloarthritis and gout. He currently works in public practice at the Royal Brisbane Hospital and in private practice at St Andrew’s Ware memorial Hospital. His website is and his twitter handle is @philipcrobinson.

Olga Petryna, MD: Dr. Olga Petryna is an attending rheumatologist at NYU Langone Faculty Group Practice. A summa cum laude graduate of the Ivano-Frankivsk Medical University in Ukraine, Dr. Petryna completed her Rheumatology Fellowship training at New York Presbyterian/Columbia Campus. Dr. Petryna has expertise in the treatment of autoimmune disorders including Rheumatoid Arthritis, Psoriatic arthritis, gout, Ankylosing Spondylitis, Sjogren’s syndrome, Vasculitis, Osteoporosis and Auto-inflammatory Syndromes. Dr. Petryna has published several papers in peer-reviewed journals and co-authored a book chapter. She can be followed on Twitter: @DrPetryna. Disclosure: Consultant for Celgene, Malinckrodt, Crescendo.

Add new comment

If you are a health practitioner, you may to comment.

Due to the nature of these comment forums, only health practitioners are allowed to comment at this time.